Chat

Harry says… (Chinese New Year)

It’s Chinese New Year today and H’s school had a super fun (and super loud) parade this morning to celebrate!

We’re on our way to school, H is wearing his touch of red and a delightfully noisy tambourine is packed for the celebration. As per usual, H has selected his tune of the day to accompany our journey to school – this morning’s school run was brought to you by Uptown Funk by Bruno Mars.

I remind him that it’s his Chinese New Year Parade and that T and I will be there to join in the fun. Realising that it’s not a word that he hears often I say Chinese New Year in PODD speak, meaning that I include the PODD pathway to the word.

M📢: Today is school special events Chinese New Year

Briefly after, H grabs my attention to turn down Bruno so that he can say something…

H📱: Chinese New Year it’s time

After almost 5 years of having PODD in our lives I’m now fluent in PODD and it’s so helpful to enhance H’s understanding and to ensure he has access to words when I can’t model to him, like when I’m driving, in the kitchen cooking, hanging up washing or any time really.

I highly recommend adding PODD to your verbal repertoire, although preferably only when your kids are there. I don’t think baristas are too keen on a “food and drink drinks coffee greetings and manners please” order!

Happy Chinese New Year!!!

Leave a comment