Harry says… (The Sentence Starters Edition)

Harry says… (The Sentence Starters Edition)

There’s nothing more exciting than when your child just completely out-of-the-blue surprises you.  I think that for many of us who, for various reasons, are very closely involved with our kids in the steps to each new milestone, it probably doesn’t happen all that often. Through no fault of theirs mind you. If left to their own devices for long enough, I’m sure they’d shock the living daylights out of us on a fairly regular basis. Preferably not in the oh-why-are-my-shoes-being-used-as-mud-pie-toppers but more along the lines of oh-you-drew-this-beautiful-card-for-mummy?!

I had a very AAC-mum-nearly-falling-off-her-feet moment a little while ago… Harry is in the lounge playing, his talker is somewhere nearby on the floor with him and I hear this…

H: Can I please have something to drink?

Now for those of you unfamiliar with how Harry communicates, he mostly uses single words to get his point across and is very effective, as you can read in these Harry says… posts here and here. We’re trying to encourage him to combine words more regularly to make increasingly complex phrases and we’re getting there… But on the whole, it’s one word at a time.

So, with that in mind, you can just imagine the excitement and confusion going through my mind when he busted out the little gem of a question above. Of course I was totally cool about it. I sauntered over with his drink, told him what great manners he had and then, as he shuffled off to keep playing, I pounced on his talker.

How on earth did he put that beautiful little sentence together?

This was a few months ago and so we were still learning our way around his communication app. Mostly we were sticking to words in the familiar category folders that are also in his PODD communication book which he’s been using for a couple of years now. I went in and out of folders trying to replicate his request when I saw, top left of the screen, the pink ‘Sentence Starters’ folder. Aha!

There they were, all these clever little, well, sentence starters. So if you select ‘Can I please have’, another screen pops open where you can select from all sorts of things. And this is where Harry finished off his sentence with ‘something to drink’.

Smart, smart cookie. The thing that really excited me about all of this was not that he was talking in full sentences as my aim is still to teach him all those individual words so he can construct absolutely any sentence that may spring to mind rather than only choosing from a few options. No, the really exciting thing was that he had figured out how to say that sentence ALL ON HIS OWN.

No modelling from me.

No expectations from me waiting, waiting, waiting to see if he would mimic what I had modelled.

Nope, this was all Harry.

And it made me think about how cautious I must be with ever thinking ‘oh, he’s just babbling’ when he’s in his own little world with his talker and saying all sorts of seemingly wacky things (as I know from Harry says…amusement park). I started thinking about T, H’s 18 month old sister, and how all sorts of babbly vocal delights fall from her lips, most of which mean nothing to me. But never is she ignored. We all nod and smile and say “yes, that is a big, yellow truck”, “oh, you want to put your shoes on” without ever thinking that she’s ‘just babbling’ and leaving her to it.

T listens to us speaking and experiments with her voice.

H listens to us speaking and experiments with HIS voice.

Of course modelling is still our most most most (that’s 3 times for emphasis just in case anyone thought I’d gone loopy and was planning on leaving H to figure out the rest on his own!) important tool in helping him learn to navigate through his talker but, for H, I also see the great benefit of allowing him to play with his voice. T plays with hers. She’s currently experimenting with rolling L’s around her mouth and trying out different vowel sounds after each successful L attempt and Harry is experimenting with quick ways to construct sentences:

H📱: I need help – to visit – Gogo

H📱: Can I please have – something to eat

H📱: I’d like – to go to the toilet

H📱:It’s time – to drive

It must also be wonderful for him to hear those perfectly constructed sentences said with his voice, especially when he’s often greeted with a great response when he shocks newbies with his phrases. Nothing like a bit of praise to spur him on!

And while he explores and experiments, I will do my best to give him the support he needs to guide him along and the space he needs to know that he can also do it all on his own.

IMG_3530

Leave a Reply

